Melbourne University Press (MUP), established in 1922, is Australia’s oldest university press and one of the oldest and most respected Australian publishing companies. MUP publishes popular scholarship with particular strengths in Australian Studies and History, Southeast Asian and South Asian Studies, and Health and Medicine. Under its prestigious Miegunyah Press imprint the press also produces major biographies and high-quality works on Art, Art History and Architecture. MUP is dedicated to sharing top Australian non-fiction writing with a worldwide audience publishing books, ebooks and audiobooks.

Covering a broad range of genres, MUP is a leader in both news-making political and current affairs publications, and beautiful and definitive Australian art and lifestyle books. Through the Miegunyah Press imprint we publish lavishly illustrated landmark books that document the national story, and include a list of award-winning art, photography, historical and biographical titles.

The prestigious and editorially-independent literary journal Meanjin also falls under the MUP umbrella.

As well as new publishing, we have digitised our extensive backlist with iconic titles such as Manning Clark's six-volume A History of Australia and Hartung's Astronomical Objects for Southern Telescopes being sold online for the first time. This digitisation is an ongoing project and you can request titles to be brought back into print here.

The MUP Board

Professor Warren Bebbington AM (Chair)

Professor Margaret Abernathy

Peter Andrews

Gabrielle Coyne

Associate Professor Mark Davis

Nicole Glazebrook

Professor Russell Goulbourne

Dr. Nathan Hollier

Dr. Sandra McComb

Dr. Julie Wells

Sue Hines

The MUP Editorial Advisory Board

Professor Jim Angus (Medicine)

Professor Jon Barnett (Geography, Planning, Urban Studies)

Professor Katy Barnett (Communications and Media Law)

Professor Jeff Borland (Economics)

Professor Joe Camilleri (Asia, International Relations)

Professor Anne Dunlop (Art History)

Professor Mark Edele (History)

Professor Cordelia Fine (Business Studies, Gender and Cultural Studies)

Professor Emma Kowal (Anthropology)

Professor Dan Li (Chemical Engineering)

Professor Eleanor Mackie (Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences)

Professor Julie McLeod (Education)

Professor Julie Willis (Architecture)

Professor Ann Roberts (Physics)

Professor Frances Separovic (Biophysical Chemistry)